Connect with us


JUST IN: Nine Ministers Resign after Meeting with Buhari



JUST IN: Nine Ministers Resign after Meeting with Buhari

Nine ministers in the cabinet of President Muhammadu Buhari have resigned after meeting with the president over their political ambitions

It would be recalled that the presidency had directed all cabinet members running for political offices to resign in accordance with the electoral law.

Business Metric can confirm that a valedictory session was held for the ministers at the state house in Abuja on Friday where the president had a final meeting with cabinet members vying for different political positions in the forthcoming general election in 2023.

As the time of filing this report, those present at the meeting include Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami; Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, and Goodwill Akpabio.

Others include Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; and Minister of Women Affairs, Paulen Tallen; Minister of State for Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar; Minister of Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; and Minister of State, Niger Delta Affairs, Tayo Alasoadura.

Meanwhile, the opposition party, PDP had demanded the resignation, arrest and prosecution of CBN governor, Godwin Emefiele who is believed to be nursing presidential ambition.

The opposition party maintained that the office of the CBN governor should be politically neutral and sensitive election materials in the CBN vault could be in jeopardy.

As of this report, the CBN governor is yet to resign despite court order barring him from stopping the electoral body from implementing the Public Service Act.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You have not selected any currencies to display